38./39. Living Dead in Dallas and Club Dead

The saga continues of Sookie Stackhouse…..My God I can’t believe how much Sookie is beaten, kicked, staked and what have you in these two books.  Living Dead in Dallas is definitely a huge rollercoaster ride of suspense.  However, I found that Club Dead was not nearly as exciting.  The couple, Sookie and Bill is missing in this story, which works so well in the first two.  Nevertheless, we learn about all the supernatural beings (shapeshifters, werewolves,etc.) existing in our society and realize along with Sookie that things are just a bit more complicated than we could have ever imagined.

Sookie is a character that is growing and changing throughout each novel.  Not only is her power developing but she is starting to accept being attractive to other supernatural beings.  The thing I really disliked in these two novels are the constant reiteration of certain facts from the earlier books as the story goes on.  It’s just  repetitive, even though it’s obviously been put in for readers that decide to read them out of sequence (not a good idea).  I also found that the middle of Club Dead seemed quite frankly a little dead.   In spite of that, you’ll keep reading just as I did because you’ll want to know how it all ends.

The series True Blood has basically taken over and there are those who love the series and those that can’t get into it like me.  I can’t say I watched enough to judge it fairly, but I’m sure I would be disappointed by the way the story has gone off the path of the book.  I hate when that happens.  I get that they want to make things look and feel different from all the other vampire shows, which are their direct competition, but there is something wrong in this tv series.  I’m giving four stars to Living Dead in Dallas and three stars to Club Dead.  If you’ve read any of these books what do you think about them?  Do you feel the allegory for gay rights is done well?  Which do you prefer, the books or the tv series?  Check out the interesting clip below of Charlaine Harris being interviewed on PBS.

I am a drinker with writing problems.

——–Brendan BEHAN

2 comments

  1. Oh yeah, the True Blood series is like a completely different universe than the books. It’s enjoyable in its own way, but definitely not the same. Of course, the last couple of Sookie books haven’t exactly thrilled me either…

    Like

    • Well hang on honey because book 13 and the final book in the series is coming out in 2013. I think in May, if not a little earlier. I’ve gotten through the first three so I’m going to wait a while to pick up the next three. One of my firends will lend them to me. I need to read something else. So I’m attacking The PAris Wife for my book club on Saturday. So far the writing style is pretty good. Stayed tuned for the rest…..

      Like

Leave a comment